County Durham and Darlington NHS Foundation Trust places cookies on your computer to improve our website. These cookies don't collect information that identifies a visitor and are all anonymous.  They are used to measure its performance and to provide enhancements to you while using the site. To find out more about the cookies we use, see our privacy policy.

Trust Board

The Board of Directors is responsible for exercising all of the powers of the Trust and is the body that sets the strategic direction, allocates the Trust's resources and monitors its performance. The Board is made up of four Executive Directors, five Non Executive Directors and a Non Executive Chairman. The Chairman and Non-Executive Directors are appointed by the Remuneration and Nomination Committee of the Governing Council. All of the Non-Executive directors are considered to be independent. The Executive Directors are appointed by the Nominations and Renumeration Committee of the Board on permanent contracts.


Page break - green

  • Trust Board Membership...

Tony Waites Tony Waites Trust Chairman- Trust Chairman

Appointed for three years 1 February 2007.  Reappointed for three years on 1 March 2010 and reappointed for a further two years on 1 March 2013 until 28 February 2015. Previous board level positions in industry including positions as chairman, managing director and finance director. Previously the Chairman of County Durham and Tees Valley Strategic Health Authority.  




Page break - green

 Sue Jacques Chief Executive

Sue Jacques - Chief Executive

Appointed as Chief Executive on 1st March 2012, having previously held the position of Deputy Chief Executive and Chief Operating Officer at the Trust.  Mrs Jacques has been a Director of Finance for more than ten years and holds an MA in Financial Management.