County Durham and Darlington NHS Foundation Trust places cookies on your computer to improve our website. These cookies don't collect information that identifies a visitor and are all anonymous.� They are used to measure its performance and to provide enhancements to you while using the site. To find out more about the cookies we use, see our privacy policy. Close

Trust Board




Professor Paul Keane OBE - Trust Chairman

Appointed for three years on 1 March 2015, Professor Keane has had a successful career in the NHS, which he joined in 1966, and as the Dean of the School of Health and Social Care at Teesside University since 2001. He was an appointed Governor with the Trust since it achieved Foundation Status in 2007.

Paul KeanePage break - green

Mrs Sue Jacques - Chief Executive


Appointed as Chief Executive on 1 March 2012, having previously held the position of Deputy Chief Executive and Chief Operating Officer at the Trust, Sue Jacques has been a Director of Finance for more than ten years and holds an MA in financial management.



Page break - green

Mr Noel Scanlon - Executive Director of Nursing and Patient Experience

Noel ScanlonNoel Scanlon has been a registered nurse for over thirty years and spent the last ten or so in senior nursing roles in the NHS, including two Executive Director of Nursing positions and Deputy Chief Executive in large acute secondary hospital trusts.  He has also spent three years in a senior nursing role for the state health provider in Qatar.





 Mr Jeremy Cundall - Executive Medical Director

Jeremy CundellJeremy is a consultant surgeon at the Trust and has worked for the organisation since 2008.  He has held the position of Care Group Director for Surgery since August 2014.

Jeremy trained at St George's hospital medical school in London, graduating in 1995 and then achieved an MD thesis at Hull before completing his higher surgical training in the North East. 

His clinical interests include general and colorectal surgery with a subspecialist interest in pelvic floor conditions such as rectal prolapse, constipation and incontinence. 

Page break - green

Ms Carole Langrick - Executive Director of Operations

Carole LangrickCarole Langrick joined the Trust in February 2015.  She is a former Director of Strategic Development and a former Chief Operating Officer and Deputy Chief Executive with an extensive health service career commencing as a nurse and moving into a variety of clinical, managerial and leadership roles.  Page break - green

Mr David Brown- Executive Finance Director

 David Brown

David Brown is a Fellow of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants with over 22 years of experience in NHS Finance. He has held positions within Acute Hospitals, Strategic Health Authorities, Primary Care Trusts and Foundation Trusts.

Page break - green

Mrs Jennifer Flynn MBE - Non Executive Director and Senior Independant Director

Mrs Jennifer Flynn

Mrs Jennifer Flynn MBE was appointed on 1 October 2014 by the Council of Governors as a non-executive director. Jenny is an experienced non-executive director in the NHS having served on the Board of the Durham Dales PCT and then County Durham PCT previously. She is also member of the Joint Audit Committee for the Office of the Police and Crime Commissioner and Durham Constabulary. Jenny is also active within the local community and was awarded the MBE for services to her community of Tow Law in the birthday honours of 2001 and in 2005 was appointed a Deputy Lieutenant for County Durham. Jenny is also a qualified solicitor and still practices part-time in Consett, specialising in elderly client work.

Page break - green

Mr Simon Gerry - Non Executive Director

 Simon Gerry

Mr Simon Gerry was appointed to the Board on the 1st June 2017 having previously been a public governor for the previous 4 years where he held positions on audit committee, chair of strategy committee and latterly Lead Governor.  Simon has extensive experience working at Board level in both the charity and public sectors, working as a current Chief Executive and formerly as an RAF Officer in organisations such as the Ministry of Defence and the Defence Logistics Organisation.  Simon brings a wealth of expertise to the Board particularly in governance, finance, estate management, and change management.

Page break - green

Mr Michael Bretherick - Non Executive Director

Michael BretherickAppointed 1 June 2016 until 31 May 2019.  Michael is an experienced non-executive director, having served on the Board of North Tees and Hartlepool NHS Foundation Trust and with the housing association Tees Valley Housing. 

A former Principal and Chief Executive of Hartlepool College of Further Education, Michael oversaw the building of the college's new £55m campus, and served on numerous local, regional and national committees in a career that spanned 34 years in further education.  Michael serves on the Boards of two local charities and as a Director of a local primary school.

Page break - green

Mr Paul Forster-Jones - Non Executive Director

Paul Forster-JonesAppointed 1 June 2016 until 31 May 2019.  Paul has worked as a management consultant, helping businesses improve their commercial performance and specialises in turn arounds, re-engineering, large tender and contract negotiation and supply chain.

A native of the North East, Paul has spent most of his working life within large organisations including Black & Decker, Bryant & May, The Body Shop, EMI Music Celesio and Alliance Boots.

Page break - green

Andrew Young - Non Executive Director and Vice Chairman

Andrew Young-8349

Appointed 1 July 2010 until 30 June 2013. Reappointed 1 July 2013 until 31 May 2016.  Reappointed 1 June 2016 until  31 May 2017.  Andrew is also chair of the Board's Audit Committee.

Andrew was previously chief executive of Durham and Chester-le-Street PCT and director of commissioning and deputy chief executive of County Durham and Darlington Health Authority. He is an independent Board member of the National Tenant Voice, a non-departmental public body incorporated as a company limited by guarantee and sponsored by the Department for Communities and Local Government.

'I am writing to congratulate you on your wonderful staff you have working for you at DMH.'

Patient, Catering / Porters / Domestics, Darlington Memorial Hospital